Trafficking in Hydrocodone
Hydrocodone is the fifth most commonly prescribed pain medication in the United States. This medication is also highly addictive, and requires the patient to use increasing amounts due to the fact that the patient can quickly become resistant to smaller amounts of the medication.
Depending on the way hydrocodone is prescribed, it can be either a Schedule II or Schedule III drug. Hydrocodone is defined as a Schedule III drug if the dosage unit (the pill) contains “not more than 15 milligrams” of the drug, with recognized therapeutic amounts of active ingredients that are not controlled substances.
Typically, a Schedule III drug be filled or refilled 5 times during a six month period.
Attorney for Trafficking in Hydrocodone in Tampa, FL
If you were charged with trafficking in hydrocodone in Tampa, Hillsborough County, then contact a criminal defense attorney at the Sammis Law Firm.
Our attorneys are experienced in fighting serious drug trafficking crimes throughout the Tampa Bay area including Pinellas County, Pasco County, Hernando County, and Hillsborough County, FL.
Call (813) 250-0500 today.
Florida Statute for Trafficking in Hydrocodone
The Florida Statutory Scheme Provides:
Any person who knowingly sells, purchases, manufactures, delivers, or brings into this state, or who is knowingly in actual or constructive possession of, 4 grams or more of any morphine, opium, oxycodone, hydrocodone, hydromorphone, or any salt, derivative, isomer, or salt of an isomer thereof, including heroin, as described in s. 893.03(1)(b), (2)(a), (3)(c) 3., or (3)(c)4., or 4 grams or more of any mixture containing any such substance, but less than 30 kilograms of such substance or mixture, commits a felony of the first degree, which felony shall be known as “trafficking in illegal drugs,” punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. If the quantity involved:
a. Is 4 grams or more, but less than 14 grams, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 3 years, and the defendant shall be ordered to pay a fine of $50,000.
b. Is 14 grams or more, but less than 28 grams, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 15 years, and the defendant shall be ordered to pay a fine of $100,000.
c. Is 28 grams or more, but less than 30 kilograms, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 25 calendar years and pay a fine of $500,000.
This article was updated on Friday, May 15, 2020.