Sale of Drugs in Pinellas County
Section 893.13(1), F.S., prohibits a person from selling, manufacturing, or delivering, or possessing with the intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver a controlled substance. Crimes related to the sale of drugs are typically charged as a second or third degree felony.
The Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office has detectives devoted to identifying, investigating, and arresting drug dealers. Prosecutors with the State Attorney’s Office are specially trained to prosecute drug crimes.
Under Florida law, the penalty for selling a controlled substance varies depending on a variety of factors including:
- the type of controlled substance;
- the amount of controlled substances;
- the attributes of the controlled substance; and
- the location where the sale takes place.
Attorney for Sale of Controlled Substance Crimes in Pinellas County, FL
If you were accused of possession, possession with intent to sell, delivery, or trafficking of a controlled substance, contact an experienced drug crime defense attorney at Sammis Law Firm.
Visit our offices at 14010 Roosevelt Blvd Suite 701, Clearwater, FL 33762-3820.
Don’t face the judge alone. Contact our experienced criminal defense lawyers in Pinellas County, FL.
Penalties for the Sale of Controlled Substances in Florida
In most circumstances, the sale of a controlled substance is punishable as either a second degree felony or third degree felony. The Florida legislature just increased the penalties to a first degree felony for selling, manufacturing, or delivering, or possessing with the intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver, certain types of fentanyl, carfentanil, or an analog or mixture of such substances.
Crimes for the sale of a controlled substance to a minor child are charged under Section 893.13(4), F.S., which prohibits a person 18 years of age or older from:
- delivering a controlled substance to a person younger than 18 years of age;
- using or hiring a person younger than 18 years of age as an agent or employee in the sale or delivery of a controlled substance; or
- using a person younger than 18 years of age to assist in avoiding detection or apprehension for a violation of ch. 893, F.S.
A violation is punishable as either a first, second, or third degree felony depending on the controlled substance that is sold or delivered.
Read more about how drug crimes are prosecuted in Pinellas County, FL.
This article was last updated on Friday, July 7, 2023.