Driver Improvement School after Reckless Driving
If the driver enters a plea or is convicted of “reckless driving,” then the Florida DHSMV will automatically send the driver to driving school.
If the driver fails to successfully complete the course within 90 days after recieving notice from the Florida DHSMV, the driver’s license SHALL BE CANCELED by the DHSMV until the course is successfully completed. See F.S. 322.0261(4).
This DHSMV-imposed requirement to complete driver improvement school also applies for convictions of the following infractions or offenses:
- 316.074(1) Fail to Obey Traffic Control Device
- 316.075(1)(c)1. Red Light Violation
- 316.172 School Bus – Improper Stop
- 316.191 Racing on the Highway
The attorneys at the Sammis Law Firm are experienced in fighting reckless driving charges which are often difficult for the prosecutor to prove at trial. These issues can also arise when the DUI case is reduced to reckless driving as part of the plea bargaining process.
Don’t be surprised the the consequences of a conviction. Call (813) 250-0500 for a free consultation to discuss your case today.
Florida Statute Section 322.0261(3)
Florida Statute Section 322.0261(3) provides:
With respect to an operator convicted of, or who pleaded nolo contendere to, a traffic offense giving rise to a crash identified in paragraph (1)(c), the department shall require that the operator, in addition to other applicable penalties, attend a department-approved driver improvement course in order to maintain his or her driving privileges. The course must include behind-the-wheel instruction and an assessment of the operator’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Successful completion of a behind-the-wheel examination is required in order to receive completion credit for the course. If the operator fails to complete the course within 90 days after receiving notice from the department, the operator’s driver license shall be canceled by the department until the course is successfully completed.
Reckless Driving after a DUI Arrest
In many cases, a person will enter a plea to Reckless Driving after a drunk driving or DUI charge when the charge is reduced. It is important for the person to know in advance of the plea that driver improvement school is required because the court often makes no mention of this requirement in the sentence.
If you would like to talk with an attorney about your case, please call our office at (813) 250-0500.
This article was last updated on Wednesday, November 21, 2018.