Pre-trial Release for Violent Crimes in Pasco County, FL
If you have been charged with a domestic violence crime, you might be provided with a notice from the Pasco Sheriff’s Office Court Services Bureau regarding the conditions of pre-trial release. The notice is written on Form PSO #40500, which is designed to comply with Florida Statute Section 903.047 and provides that if you are released on pretrial release you MUST:
- refrain from criminal activity of any kind (a new arrest might result in your bond being revoked and the court holding you on a “no bond” warrant until the underlying case is resolved);
- comply with all conditions of pretrial release; and
- refrain from any contact of any type with the victim, except through pretrial discovery pursuant to the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure An order of no contact is effective immediately and enforceable for the duration of the pretrial release or until it is modified by the court. The defendant shall receive a copy of the order of no contact which specifies the applicable prohibited acts before the defendant is released from custody on pretrial release. As used in this section, unless otherwise specified by the court, the term “no contact” includes the following prohibited acts:
- communications orally or in any written form, either in person, telephonically, electronically, or in any other manner, either directly or indirectly through a third person, with the victim or any other person named in the order. If the victim and the defendant have children in common, at the request of the defendant, the court may designate an appropriate third person to contact the victim for the sole purpose of facilitating the defendant’s contact with the children. However, this subparagraph does not prohibit an attorney for the defendant, consistent with the rules regulating The Florida Bar, from communicating with any person protected by the no contact order for lawful purposes
- Having physical or violent contact with the victim or other named person or his or her property.
- Being within 500 feet of the victim’s or other person’s residence, even if the defendant and the victim or other named person share the residence.
- Being within 500 feet of the victim’s or other named person’s vehicle, place of employment, or a specified place frequented regularly by such person.
If a child was a witness to the act of domestic violence, yo might also receive a visit from the Pasco Sheriff’s Office Child Protective Investigation Division. The Child Protective Investigator (often called the CPI) might ask you to sign a parent information form, talk to your child, or take a picture of your child. You will also be provided with a “Know Your Rights and Responsibilities brochure, which includes the Child Protective Investigator and Supervisor’s name and phone number.