Illegal Street Racing in Pasco County
Florida law prohibits a person from driving any motor vehicle, including any motorcycle, for the purpose of making a speed record on any highway, roadway, or parking lot, in any:
- speed competition
- speed contest
- drag race
- acceleration contest
- test of physical endurance
- exhibition of speed or acceleration.
Additionally, Florida Statute Section 316.191(2) prohibits a person from:
- participating in, coordinating, facilitating, or collecting moneys at any location for any such event;
- knowingly riding as a passenger in any such event; or
- purposefully causing the movement of traffic to slow or stop for any such event.
The crime of racing is included in the list of offenses related to Florida’s exception to the warrant requirement for an arrest. This means, that when a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that a person commits any racing offense, the law enforcement officer may arrest and take the person into custody without an arrest warrant.
Attorney for Racing Crimes in Pasco County, FL
If you were charged with any kind of traffic criminal offense, either as a misdemeanor or a felony, then contact the experienced attorneys at Sammis Law Firm.
Our five attorneys represent clients charged with racing and other criminal traffic crimes throughout New Port Richey, Dade City, and the surrounding areas in Pasco County, FL.
Call (727) 807-6392.
Penalties and Punishments for Racing in Florida
The penalties for a first violation of Florida’s racing statute under Section 316.191(3), F.S., when racing is charged as a first degree misdemeanor, the crime is punishable by:
- up to a year in county jail;
- a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000; and
- the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) must also revoke his or her driver license for one year.
For a second violation of the racing statute within five years of a prior conviction, the crime can be charged as a first degree misdemeanor punishable by:
- up to a year in county jail;
- a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $3,000; and
- the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) must also revoke his or her driver license for two years.
As explained in Section 316.191(5), F.S., the court may enter an order of impoundment or immobilization as a condition of incarceration or probation for any racing offense. Within seven business days after the court files the order of impoundment or immobilization, the clerk of the court must send notice by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the registered owner of the motor vehicle, if the registered owner is a person other than the defendant, and to each person of record claiming a lien against the motor vehicle.
Finally, any person who is accused of being a spectator at a prohibited drag race under this section can be cited for a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a moving violation as provided in ch. 318, F.S. See Section 316.191(4), F.S.; Section 318.18, F.S., provides, that in addition to any other penalty, a person must pay $65 for a violation of s. 316.191, F.S.
After the driver’s license is revoked for racing, the person may request a hearing pursuant to Section 322.271, F.S., to petition the DHSMV for reinstatement of driving privileges.
Illegal Street Racing Crimes in Pasco County, FL – Read a recent news article published on August 20, 2018, explaining why homeowners in one Wesley Chapel neighborhood complained about illegal street-racing in their neighborhood. The report alleged that the Pasco County Sheriff’s Office has issued no citations and has made no arrests for street racing in East Pasco County recently.
This article was last updated on Thursday, May 5, 2022.