Restitution Hearings in Juvenile Court
Can a parent be held liable for or forced to pay restitution because of the acts committed by their child after a restitution hearing in juvenile court?
Depending on the type of juvenile act charged, the child charged in juvenile court can be required to pay restitution. In some cases, that liability can also be imposed on the child’s parent or legal guardian. If the restitution order was illegally imposed, an appeal can be filed with a higher court.
In juvenile courts in Florida, the court retains jurisdiction over a child and the child’s parent or legal guardian when the court orders restitution to be paid until the restitution order is satisfied or until the court orders otherwise. See Florida Statute Section 985.0301 and 985.437(5). Depending on the circumstances, the judge in juvenile court can order the child to pay the fines and other financial requirements instead of the parents.
After a restitution hearing or by consent during a plea, restitution can be ordered to compensate the victims for damages and out-of-pocket expenses incurred as a result of the delinquent conduct. Those expenses can include property damage, insurance deductibles, and the fair market value of stolen items.
If the fines or restitution ordered by the judge in juvenile court remain unpaid, the amount can be converted into a judgment that might eventually damage the child or parent’s credit.
Attorney for Juvenile Restitution Hearings in Tampa, FL
The attorneys at Sammis Law Firm represent minor children accused of a crime. We are experienced fighting cases in juvenile court in Tampa, FL. We also represent juveniles in the surrounding counties including Pinellas County, Pasco County, Hernando County, and Polk County.
Our attorneys also represent clients during restitution hearings in adult court and on appeal to a higher court when a restitution order is entered improperly.
Find out more about direct appeals from juvenile courts in Florida.
Call (813) 250-0500 to discuss your case today.
Parent’s Required to Pay Cost of Supervision
If the juvenile is placed in home detention, probation, or another supervision status with the department, or is committed to the minimum-risk non-residential restrictiveness level, the court will often order the parent of the child to pay the following:
- the department a fee for the cost of the supervision of such child under Florida Statute Section 985.039;
- Home Detention/Probation for $1 a day; or
- Secure Detention/Commitment for $5.
In some cases, the judge in juvenile court can waive court fees due to undue hardship.
This article was last updated on Friday, July 29, 2022.