Burglary of a Conveyance
The crime of Burglary of a Conveyance, under Florida Statute Section 810.(4)(b), is defined as unlawfully entering a conveyance, remaining inside a conveyance surreptitiously, or remaining in a conveyance after permission to remain has been withdrawn with the intent to commit a crime inside.
For purposes of Florida’s burglary statute, the term “conveyance” is defined as any motor vehicle, ship, vessel, railroad vehicle or car, trailer, aircraft, or sleeping car.
The vast majority of these crimes involve someone breaking into another person’s vehicle, without permission, to steal something located inside the vehicle without permission from the vehicle’s owner.
Attorney for Burglarizing a Conveyance
If you were arrested for burglarizing a conveyance or car under Section 810.(4)(b), Florida Statutes, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Sammis Law Firm.
With offices in downtown Tampa in Hillsborough County and New Port Richey in Pasco County, w
The attorneys at Sammis Law Firm represent clients accused of committing burglary of a vehicle throughout the greater Tampa Bay area. Our main office is locate
Contact us for a free consultation to discuss the burglary charge pending against you, the possible penalties that can be imposed for that charge, and the best defenses that can be used to fight the case.
Call (813) 250-0500.
Penalties for Burglary of a Conveyance
Under Florida law, the crime of Burglary of a Conveyance is charged as a Third Degree Felony which is punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
When the crime is charged as a third degree felony, it is classified as a Level 4 offense for purposes of the severity ranking under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code.
Armed Burglary of a Conveyance
The crime of burglary of a conveyance while armed with a dangerous weapon is a felony of the first degree under § 810.02(2)(b), Fla. Stat. A first degree felony is punishable by up to 30 years in Florida State Prison.
While burglary is one of the enumerated felonies under Florida’s 10-20-Life statute, § 775.087(2)(a)1., Fla. Stat. , if a person is is convicted of burglary of a conveyance while armed with a firearm, the minimum mandatory sentence under Florida’s 10-20-Life statute is three years.
In Figueroa–Montalvo v. State, 10 So.3d 173, 174–75 (Fla. 5th DCA 2009), the court held that “[t]he crime of burglary of a conveyance is … listed as one of the charges to which the three-year mandatory minimum applies.
This article was last updated on Wednesday, March 6, 2019.