Felony battery under Section § 784.041(1), Florida Statute, is committed when the defendant:
- actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other; and
- causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement.
Defenses for felony charges often revolve around self-defense, defense of others, or defense of property.
The main difference between misdemeanor battery and felony battery is the amount of harm that is inflicted. Although no injury is necessary for a misdemeanor battery, before a felony battery can be charged, a significant injury must occur.
While aggravated battery involves a conscious intent to cause great bodily harm, felony battery only requires an intention to commit the battery.
Attorney for Felony Battery in Tampa, FL
If you were charged with felony battery, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Sammis Law Firm. From our main office in downtown Tampa, FL, we represent clients charged with violent crimes throughout Hillsborough County, FL.
We also have a second office in New Port Richey in Pasco County, across from the West Pasco Judicial Center.
Call (813) 250-0500.
Penalties for Felony Battery in Florida
Felony battery is charged as a third-degree felony which is punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and a $5,000 fine. The crime of felony battery is classified as a Level 6 offense for purposes of its severity ranking under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code.
Unless the court finds sufficient grounds for a downward departure sentence, the court is required to sentence a person convicted of Felony Battery to a minimum term of 19-36 months in prison. The statutory maximum for felony battery is five years in Florida State Prison.
Finding a Lawyer for Felony Battery in Hillsborough County, FL
If you were charged with Felony Battery in Hillsborough County, FL, then contact an attorney at Sammis Law Firm. We represent clients for a variety of violence crimes charged under Florida law. including battery, felony battery, aggravated battery, battery on a pregnant female, and battery on a law enforcement officer.
Violent battery crimes can include simple battery, felony battery, aggravated battery, battery on a pregnant female, and battery on a law enforcement officer.
A simple battery can also be charged as a third-degree felony under Section 784.03, F.S., if the defendant was previously convicted of a battery crime.
Contact us to discuss the case. Call (813) 250-0500.
This article was last updated on Tuesday, September 3, 2019.